Early morning workouts?

So many people as the same question when they hear that I workout at 4:30ish in the morning most days (after “are you crazy?” and “how do you do it?”)…do you eat before?

Actually, eating before workouts is a super personal thing.  What may work for one person, may not work for you.  But, I’m going to tell you what I do.

When I workout that early, I don’t eat first.  I need at least an hour to digest much of anything for it to not be on my mind during my workout.  I get up, get dressed, check in on my accountability groups while I drink my E&E (one of my secret weapons!) and then get going.  I used to have Shakeology before morning workouts when I would get up at 5 and workout at 7.  But now, I usually wouldn’t eat before working out then.  I used to think that I needed to start eating then, but I’ve found that not starting so early (when I’m not really hungry anyway) has helped me stick to my plan a bit better!

If I workout later in the day, I’ll usually try to time my Shakeology for 1-2 hours before, and then E&E a half hour before.  The shake gives me the best of both worlds – I’m full, so food isn’t on my mind, but I’m not feeling weighed down, so that isn’t on my mind either.  I can focus on my workout and get it done!

The first thing I’ve been “eating” has been coffee, and this week I’ve stepped it up with a teaspoon of coconut oil, and then blending it up with my blender.  I tried this before, but it didn’t stick.  The blender makes it nice and foamy and delicious…a real treat.  And it does help keep me full.  I usually eat actual food for the first time at about 9am.

Photo Jan 26, 8 47 54 AM

What do you eat before your workouts?

Want to join in for my February calves group?  We start 2/1!  Find me on facebook and message me that you want in!

February Calves

Leave a Reply

